Skip to content
News / October 8, 2008

Minister for Health opens Trinity Health Sciences Offices

by Guy Hiscott

The Minister for Health and Children, Mary Harney, TD officially opened the Faculty of Health Sciences Offices at Trinity College Dublin on 29 September.

The Faculty of Health Sciences consists of the Schools of Dental Science, Medicine, Nursing and Midwifery, and Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. These schools are spread across the city centre campus and in St James’s Hospital and the Adelaide and Meath Hospital, incorporating the National Children’s Hospital in Tallaght.

In January 2008, an earlier decision of the College to reorganise the academic structure of TCD was implemented, resulting in the amalgamation of all schools into three faculties: Health Sciences; Engineering, Mathematics and Sciences; and Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. The new structure allows for a more synergistic approach to the delivery of education to future and current health professionals

Speaking at the opening, the Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, Prof Colm Ó Moráin, stated: ‘Trinity has always been committed to innovation and research. A most relevant example of TCD’s contribution to the Irish health services is the proposed establishment of the Trinity Academic Medical Centre. This in itself will make massive improvements in teaching and delivery of healthcare, and will fully establish TCD as an equal with the leaders in health care and education in the world.’